the last trail for the first time

Let’s walk and talk, You said

and so we did

well, We walked, You talked

and you told me the truth

and i was overcome with fear, pain, gratitude

and my heart broke into a million tiny pieces.

That was the last time we walked together.

Our last trail.

I went back today, I was in the neighborhood

as I walked, I saw them

those tiny pieces had all taken root

my old heart, my old ideas of how things were and would be

they line that trail as tiny flowers, berries, ferns and trees

i couldn’t stop smiling, i couldn’t stop my feet from floating off the trail

and I felt another little mend

another stitch, another scar on my healing heart

i flew up that trail and sang to myself

i will heal this heart!

and it will grow!

and be more beautiful than i can imagine!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “the last trail for the first time

Leave a Reply

