simplify

This year has been an ongoing exercise in self-discovery. I have learned or refined or confirmed a great many ideas about myself and how I go about life. I think that one of the more important ones so far is my desire for simplicity.

I’m not talking about ‘easy’ when I mean simplicity. In fact, some of the things that feel like simplification to me probably sound like loads of superfluous work to others. But today, in the midst of a mountain of chores, with 3 extra children around the house, a to-do list growing hourly, and the ever-present confusion that is my slowly waning marriage, I looked out my back door and saw this. And felt peace.

IMG_20160512_162529 (1)Laundry hanging in the sun. Blowing in an early summer breeze above a small but busy garden. A rickety fence. A lawn recently mowed with an old-fashioned push mower. Seedling sunflowers and barely budding lavender looking hopeful.

I stood there on the patio, breathing deeply the green spring air. Listening to the laughter and shrieks as my children played with their first best friends, their cousins. Smelling the freshly cut grass, and the water from the creek, and the herbs from the garden warmed by the sun.

Gratitude filled my heart (and leaked out of my eyes a little bit).

This is where my soul longs to be. In a green place, with simple joy and simple food and simple but sometimes difficult work.

IMG_20140815_120406

 

Leave a Reply

