mount ‘sigh’

In the legends of the Snoqualmie people, Mount Si was the body of the moon, fallen to earth through the trickery of the fox and the blue jay. It does seem very dramatic, rising up suddenly from the floor of the Snoqualmie valley. And it feels a bit otherworldly too as you pass through old and new growth forest, over a variety of terrain, up 4 miles and 3150 feet of elevation. In short, it’s the perfect place for some grueling forest therapy.

Sigh

We talk a bit at first as we start up the trail,

About kids, cash, brothers and broken hearts.

It’s crowded, but everyone is cheerful. We’re all glad to be here.

Soon the conversation becomes choppy. Short bursts punctuated by heavy breathing.

The low winter sun is sharp through the trees.

The warmth is healing.

At every turn, another earthen ramp skyward.

My mind wanders, but revels in the meditation of physical exertion.

As the summit nears so do the clouds.

We don’t linger long. A bite to eat, a picture of the view, a laugh with new friends.

The wind ushers us down the trail.

I run ahead. Trees swaying aggressively, branches falling.

Entering a dark, primordial pocket of forest, a strong gust wraps around me.

I stop, alone in the forest, mid-hug with Mother Nature.

I raise my arms high above me and start to cry.

I bow to the forest. I bow to my spirit. I bow to the wind. I breathe deeply,

and sigh.

IMG_20160305_133019

 

Leave a Reply

